Vice Versa

The idea of a high school dance is already revolting to some. Every year throughout the history of high schools’ existence, there are the kids who love going to the dances and there are the kids who would rather die than attend.

In my freshman year, I went to homecoming, and since then I have not returned to a school dance. Wearing a nice dress that probably cost a lot of money and isn’t the most comfortable garment in the world, plastering my face with make up and getting my hair done, looking good for pictures, trying to have fun with my friends when I really can’t dance and don’t like dancing when people are watching, and the loud irritating music assaulting my ears are not how I personally like spending my Friday nights. Prom is a no from me. I’ve never had school spirit or an undying need to participate in upperclassmen activities. But the Vice dance is a whole new story.

Vice. Short for vice versa. Otherwise known as a Sadie Hawkins dance. This tradition of sorts started out with good intentions many decades ago when times were simply different from the way they are now. This is the dance where the girls ask the guys.

Wow! Can you imagine? How crazy of an idea that a girl could ask a guy to go to a dance with her. Let’s dedicate an entire dance to the new-found freedom of girls asking guys.

Uh, NOT! I know when my mom was in high school (the late 70s), it was impossible to go to a school dance without a date and the Sadie Hawkins dance was the only time a girl got to determine her fate at this school event. She could ask whoever she wanted, and she didn’t have to wait for a guy to ask her or even worse, be asked by the wrong guy.

The 1970s were a much different time, however, than 2017. I would like to believe that we as a society have made leaps forward in social advancements, but there are still leaps we need to take. Let’s start with abolishing the gender roles of which person has to ask the other.

First, nowadays it is much more acceptable for LGBTQ+ couples to be out of the closet and openly dating each other. So there may not be two different genders in the relationship, and in that case, who is supposed to ask who?

And second, a girl should not be afraid about going after what she wants! And other people should not judge a girl for asking a boy out, and make assumptions like the boy is weak for having the girl ask him out. Asking someone to go to a dance with you is nerveracking regardless of your gender.

What if I as a girl really liked a boy at my school, and a dance was coming up and I thought it to be the perfect opportunity for a move to be made? I would not like waiting around, telepathically trying to send him messages, “ask me, ask me, ask me”, and being as subtle as possible in dropping hints that I wanted him to take me. I would much rather be straightforward and ask him to go with me. If this happened of course, and the dance wasn’t Vice, there would be a high possibility of my date being mocked for having a girl ask him. And for what reason? No reason, really, but that’s how gender roles work.

Another sad fact about Vice is that there is usually extremely low attendance. The girls who have pre-exsisting boyfriends will probably be there, but that’s almost it. Homecoming and Prom are much more populated. And why? Because girls are afraid of the negative backlash they would receive for asking a boy to go with them, even if that’s what the whole ‘point’ of the dance is.

If the school wants a dance in February, why not just a Winter Formal or a Valentine’s Day dance? It’s ridiculous that girls need their own dance to ask a guy.

Leave a Reply

